The Thrill of The Hunt…Thrifting for Fun

Being a Vintage Picker, I spend many hours combing local thrift stores, yard sales, and swap meets to find those rare, old vintage treasures that really speak to me. Many of these treasures have just been thrown away, or discarded by their past owners. Maybe they are just old and fragile, like some of my favorite people. These old treasures still hold a simple beauty to me. They take me back to a more carefree time of days gone by.

Pale Yellow Coorsite Water Pitcher – Vintage 1930s
ImageI found this simple, yet classic Coorsite Water Pitcher at my local Goodwill Store this past week.

This chic, Art Deco style of ceramic stonewear was very high end for its day. The classic modern style of this ceramic pottery is very collectible, and still stylish more than 75 years after it was produced.

ImageHF Coors Pottery Company, the manufacturers of Coorsite Pottery was started in Inglewood, California in 1925 by Herman Franklin Coors. Herman Coors was the son of the renowned brewer of Coors beer. HF Coors Pottery was well known for manufacturing durable, commercial quality, ceramic dinnerware and kitchen ware.

ImageCoorsite Water Pitcher No. 992

I am trying to figure out if this style of Coorsite Water Pitcher was made before the similarly styled Homer Laughlin, Fiesta Ware water pitcher. They were both manufactured in the 1930s during the art deco period. I wonder who copied who?

FiestaWare Pitcher (sample photo only)ImageThis is a vintage FiestaWare Water Pitcher from the same era as the Coorsite Pitcher shown above.


Vintage 1960s DrinKaddy ™ Bottle Cooler & Carrier 

ImageThis retro Cola Bottle Caddy and Drink Cooler is another of my favorite recent yard sale finds.

Image I was really excited to find a whole display box full of these cool drink carriers. They are also an energy efficient beverage cooler, just dangle your bottled beer or soda in the cold river or lake below your boat.

A Real Cool Catch!

The postmark on the shipping / display box is Aug.22. 1962

ImageTo open just spin the handle on top to open, reverse the handle direction to close. Bottle Carrier holds 6 bottles of your favorite beer or soda beverage.

ImageA must have fishing accessory for the thirsty sportsman. A fisherman’s dream, cold beer or soda, No ice needed!


Vintage Boat Oil Painting – Signed R. ThielvoltImage
Vintage Oil Painting of a rustic, colorful old boat and trailer parked on the boat dock in front of the bait shack, or old boat house.

ImageThis serene boating scene depicts a boat dock with a colorful little dingy boat on a trailer. Birds fly wildly over the tall sailing ship masts, with dark cloudy skies in the background.

ImageOil painting is signed R. Thielvolt, possibly Thielvalt? Any information on this painting, location, or information on the Artist would be greatly appreciated.

ImageI found this oil on canvas painting in a local yard sale, along with a few other cool Nautical wall hangings.

One of the other paintings combined in this purchase was a watercolor painted on a Lithograph of an Oregon Lighthouse. The lighthouse print was originally signed and numbered with a certificate of authenticity. Unfortunately, the previous owner had butchered the signature when trimming the print to frame it. I will probably re-purpose the lighthouse painting into a new piece of art using parts of the old painting. I just can’t bear to throw away the painting, so I am going to give it a new life.

Antique Iron Tricycle – Vintage 1890sImageI would have to say that this 1890s Antique Iron Tricycle was one of my very best swapmeet finds yet. I found this rustic old trike at the Goldenwest  swap meet in Huntington Beach, California. The man selling this beauty wanted $75 for it, my husband walked away with it for the bargain price of only $50. I recently sold this gorgeous antique toy trike to an International Photography Studio.

When I am lucky enough to find one of these cool old vintage treasures at a great price it gives me such a thrill. I just wish I could keep all of these treasures for myself, but alas my home is only so big. There is a fine line between collector and hoarder, so I share these rare beauties with all of you.


I am still on the Ultimate Hunt for that special treasure to show off at the Antique Roadshow coming to Anaheim, CA in June. If you have something really old, or just really unique I would love to hear about it, and possibly purchase it from you to take to the Antiques Road Show.

4 thoughts on “The Thrill of The Hunt…Thrifting for Fun

  1. artmoscow says:

    The pitcher’s incredible. Still-life ready )

  2. fiesta ware says:

    Great work done by author of this blog. I never seen such a beautiful and informative blog. Also the looks of the blog is awesome. Keep posting please.

Don't be shy, say Hi

